Nye skiver og bøker

flere skiver og bøker...

Våre podkaster

flere podkaster ...

Skiver du bør ha

flere anbefalte skiver...

Våre beste klipp

flere filmer...

Ledere og debattinnlegg

flere debattinnlegg...

På skive



The Norwegian quartet Husmo HAV, led by trumpeter Thomas Husmo Litleskare, was described before as post-apocalyptic jazz and as the missing link between Jaga Jazzist and the Blade Runner soundtrack (composed by Greek Electronics musician Vangelis). The sophomore album of Husmo HAV, «Waves», still draws inspiration from these seminal musicians, but suggests a much brighter vibe, compared to the quartet’s debut album, «Ripples» (Øra Fonogram, 2019), now fueled with optimist energy and infectious grooves.

Husmo HAV was formed by Husmo Litleskare in 2018 and features synth sorceress Marte Eberson, of Highasakite fame, who collaborated recently with guitarist Hedvig Mollestad; bass player Stian Andreas Egeland Andersen from Holum Trio; and drummer Tore Flatjord of The Switch and LASSEN. «Waves», like «Ripples», was recorded in Nabolaget Studio in Oslo.

«Waves» offers five pieces, all blend Husmo Litleskare’s atmospheric, spacious trumpet sound, Eberson’s vintage and nostalgic synth sounds and the light but driving rhythmic patterns of Egeland Andersen and Flatjord. The opening piece, «Mining for Gold», is a dramatic and cinematic piece here, and highlights how the close interplay of Husmo Litleskare and Eberson intensifies the dramatic narrative. «Never Ending Summer» nods to the eighties synth-pop, dance songs. «Eliten» dives deeper and Husmo Litleskare’s spacious trumpet tone sketches a more complex, emotional story. «You Must Think I’m Really Weird» is the closest in its spirit to the sonic universe of Jaga Jazzist with its hypnotic groove and its tight and structured song format, articulated beautifully by Husmo Litleskare. The last piece «Eliten II» is a gentle, atmospheric ballad.

«Waves» is released in a limited edition of 100 12’’ vinyl, played on 45 rpm, and pressed on super sleek bubblegum pink plus download option.

Eyal Hareuveni

Thomas Husmo Litleskare (tp), Marte Eberson (keys), Stian Andreas Egeland Andersen (b), Tore Flatjord (dr, perc)


Skriv et svar