Nye skiver og bøker

flere skiver og bøker...

Våre podkaster

flere podkaster ...

Skiver du bør ha

flere anbefalte skiver...

Våre beste klipp

flere filmer...

Ledere og debattinnlegg

flere debattinnlegg...

På skive



The Norwegian band Hullyboo started as a trio ten years ago, featuring guitar player Marius Hirth Klovning , bass player Bjørnar Kaldefoss Tveite and drummer Mats Mæland Jensen. The trio released its debut album three years later, «Bønner Og Flesk» (NORCD, 2012). And hosted five other musicians on several tracks, including pianist Oscar Grönberg and trombonist Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø.

The next, current incarnation of Hullyboo features this band as a quintet. The three original musicians added sax player Tore Brunborg and trumpeter Jakob Eri Myhre to the band. The new album of the quintet, «Farkost» (vessel in Norwegian) focuses on the connections between music and movement – the direction of a melody, the atmosphere in a harmonic motion or the energy of interplay.

Klovning, Tveite and Jensen wrote the nine pieces, all suggesting gentle, swinging motion of waves. Brunborg and Myhre blend naturally into the emphatic. leisured interplay of the original trio and enrich the new music with depth, pathos and power. Pieces like «Melwee», the beautiful title-piece or the acoustic «Insomnia» and «Blikkstille», both with the beautiful guitar solos of Klovning, demonstrates the strong, melodic sensibility of the new version of Hullyboo.

Eyal Hareuveni

Jakob Eri Myhre (tp), Tore Brunborg (s), Marius Hirth Klovning (g), Bjørnar Kaldefoss Tveite (b), Mats Mæland Jensen (dr)

Skriv et svar