Nye skiver og bøker

flere skiver og bøker...

Våre podkaster

flere podkaster ...

Skiver du bør ha

flere anbefalte skiver...

Våre beste klipp

flere filmer...

Ledere og debattinnlegg

flere debattinnlegg...

På skive



Prolific Italian, Brussels-based pianist-composer Giovanni Di Domenico formed in 2010 the Mo(ve)ments Ensemble that reflected his love for subtle orchestration and intimate and acoustic, chamber music sensibilities, and especially the organic combinations and timbral qualities of clarinet and string instruments (violin, cello and double bass). This ensemble and released Terre Che Cammina (Spocus, 2010).

More than ten years later, Di Domenico formed a New Mo(ve)ments Ensemble, expanded to a septet with new musicians and a new focus on the melodic and harmonic interaction between brass instruments (trumpet and euphonium), flutes, accordions (including Norwegian Kalle Moberg with whom Di Domenico collaborated in Pangrams, Dropa Disc, 2023), double bass and Di Domenico’s piano, and on the timbral characteristics of each of those instruments, all tied together by Di Domenico’s arrangements and sensibilities.

The New Mo(ve)ments Ensemble recrded Branes at Werktplaats Walter in Brussels in February 2021 and still offers lyrical and intimate and highly expressive music as Di Domenico began to explore on Terre Che Cammina. The opening, extended «Moment Form» is a delicate and ethereal texture that explores patiently and slowly the fragile harmonic dynamics of the new ensemble. The shorter «Brane #1 and #2» investigate darker, tense and mysterious, piano-led textures. The last, fourth extended «Ridendo e Scherzando» returns to a classic, chamber form and builds gently its beautiful melodic core, with subtle, colorful variations, with no attempt to reach a cathartic climax.

Eyal Hareuveni

Ananta Roosens (alto stringed violin, trumpet), Quentin Manfroy (flute, bass flute), Niels Van Heertum (euphonium), Stan Maris (accordion), Kalle Moberg (accordion), Manolo Cabras (double bass), Giovanni Di Domenico (piano)