Nye skiver og bøker

flere skiver og bøker...

Våre podkaster

flere podkaster ...

Skiver du bør ha

flere anbefalte skiver...

Våre beste klipp

flere filmer...

Ledere og debattinnlegg

flere debattinnlegg...

På skive



«MeWe» is the fifth album of Swedish vocalist Anna Lundqvist and her Quintet (ALQ). It is actually a conceptual instrumental project. Lundqvist simply uses her voice as a unique instrument with a rich range of colors and emotions. She challenges herself as a vocalist and improviser, maybe even liberates herself as a composer, and with no doubt, offers a highly personal project.

Lundqvist wanted that the 11 pieces of «MeWe» will leave the listener with «both a sense of restlessness and something peaceful, while adding a dimension of surrealism». Her clear, suggestive soprano voice is an integral part of the ALQ, expanding the multilayered sound of the ALQ, now richer than ever with subtle digital sounds and samplings and with guest guitarist, cellist and vibes player. Her voice mirrors and blends with the electric guitar lines of Krister Jonsson or the gentle sax Björn Almgren or soars over the tight, collective dynamics of pianist Fabian Kallerdahl, bassist Mattias Grönroos and drummer on-Erik Björänge. Her clever delivery charges the ALQ with unique, dramatic tension and surprising colors and sounds.

Instrumental, contemplative songs like «Alone», «The Ravens» and «Everything is everything» highlight the reflective aspect of the album, of Anna Lundqvist the vocalist-leader-composer within the Quintet, the ME within the collective WE – in her musical career or in her personal life – or her search for personal freedom within the structured song formats. She intensifies the restless, emotional drama on «Inspired», offers a distant, playful perspective on the vocal jazz legacy on «My Joy» and adds a dimension of surreal urgency to the rock-solid pulse of «Insomnia» and the title-song.

An intriguing emotional ride.

Eyal Hareuveni

Fabian Kallerdahl (p), Mattias Grönroos (b), Jon-Erik Björänge (dr, perc), Björn Almgren (ts, ss), Anna Lundqvist (v), Krister Jonsson (g), Stina Larsdotter (c), Tobias Hedlund (vib)

Skriv et svar